Our understanding of scientific policy advice

Our understanding of high-quality scientific policy advice follows the „Leitlinien Politikberatung“ of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. Scientific policy advice neither can nor should substitute political decisions and societal discourse. In fact, its main task consists of preparing, enabling and critically accompanying the latter.

Against this background, the major problem of scientific consultancy is to apply the knowledge generated according to scientific criteria and interests to policy relevant questions in a form which enables conclusions and recommendations that are both scientifically reasonable and politically implementable.

The Institute

The ISG Institute for Social Research is a privately owned, independent research institute with offices in Köln (headquarter) and Berlin. The institute goes back to the Otto-Blume-Institut für Sozialforschung und Gesellschaftspolitik e.V. which was founded in 1952.

Competences and services

The scientific research focuses on

  • Economic and labor market policy (head: Dr. Fertig)
  • Social policy (head: Dr. Engels)

  • Kategorien
    • „Especially the tasks to be conducted in projects concerning safety and health at work demonstrate the value of governance-analytical approaches for multilevel topics in the national as well as European context.“

      Helmut Hägele

    • „The fundament of high-quality scientific policy advice is expertise. Without substantiated scientific expertise the whole consulting process is built on sand and doomed to failure.“

      Dr. Michael Fertig

    • „The concept of individual living conditions corresponds with the institutional level of society. Each living condition takes place as an inclusion into a corresponding functional system of society.“

      Dr. Dietrich Engels

    • „The principle of equal opportunities explicitly refers to women and men, however, without neglecting the intersection of gender with other characteristics like age, migration background or health/disability.“

      Marco Puxi

    adminEvaluation des Bundesprogramms „Europäisches Jahr 2010 gegen Armut und soziale Ausgrenzung“

Unser Verständnis wissenschaftlicher Politikberatung

Unser Verständnis qualitativ hochwertiger wissenschaftlicher Politikberatung orientiert sich an den „Leitlinien Politikberatung“ der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Wissenschaftliche Politikberatung kann und soll sowohl politische Entscheidungen als auch einen allgemeinen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs nicht ersetzen. Ihre Aufgabe besteht darin, dieselben vorzubereiten, überhaupt zu ermöglichen und kritisch zu begleiten.

Eine Kernaufgabe der wissenschaftlichen Beratung ist somit, das nach den Relevanzkriterien und dem Erkenntnisinteresse der Wissenschaft generierte Wissen so auf politisch relevante Frage- und Problemstellungen anzuwenden, dass hieraus Empfehlungen abgeleitet werden können, die sowohl wissenschaftlich angemessen als auch politisch umsetzbar sind.

Das Institut

Das ISG Institut für Sozialforschung und Gesellschaftspolitik GmbH ist eine unabhängige wirtschafts- und sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsgesellschaft mit Standorten in Köln und Berlin, die auf das seit 1952 bestehende Otto-Blume-Institut für Sozialforschung und Gesellschaftspolitik e.V. zurückgeht.

Kompetenzen und Leistungsspektrum

Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen

  • Wirtschafts- und Arbeitsmarktpolitik (Leitung: Dr. Fuchs)
  • Sozialpolitik (Leitung: Dr. Engels)

  • Kategorien
  • adminInnovationen brauchen Mut – Bilanz und Perspektiven der Förderung von innovativen wissensbasierten und technologieorientierten Gründern und jungen KMU im Land Brandenburg – Evaluation des Modellprojekts von LASA Brandenburg GmbH und ZAB